Skip to content

Social Science

Greetings from the Social Science Department!

Photo of students in Chiapas

We are one of the largest and most diverse departments on campus. We offer majors and minors in Broad Field Social Science, Criminal Justice, Economics, International Relations, Political Science and Sociology. Most majors also have concentrations that allow them to develop additional expertise.

Sociology and Criminal Justice majors have the option to concentrate in Human Services, a rigorous program that prepares students to take the state social work exam and for professional licensure. The majority of students obtain internships, coordinated and supported through our department, that help them gain experience working in the areas that interest them most. Many are eventually hired directly by the organizations where they did their internship, or find that the practical experience and networks they acquired through their internships helps them obtain other jobs, or navigate graduate school.

Our students tend to be among the most actively involved in social and political issues on campus and beyond. As a social science student, you learn how to analyze complex issues and write about them effectively, making persuasive arguments grounded in empirical evidence. The interests you bring to class, or develop through your studies, can form the basis for fascinating research projects. Our most recent graduates wrote senior seminar papers on a range of important subjects, including mental illness among prison inmates, the Islamic State, authenticity within hip-hop music, environmental sustainability, democracy and political participation, micro-lending and maternal substance abuse. Our students’ important and relevant research projects are always supported by diverse faculty expertise and close mentorship.

Many of our graduates go on to successfully earn advanced degrees in such fields as social work, public health, law and urban planning. Others obtain positions directly after graduation in a multitude of educational, nonprofit social service and advocacy organizations; international non-governmental organizations; financial institutions; micro-lending agencies; government agencies; the Peace Corp and police departments. They work as politicians, political campaign managers, legislative aides, probation officers, teachers and social workers.

Please contact me at any time to explore a major or minor in Social Science.

Julie Whitaker, Ph.D.
Chairperson and Associate Professor
Social Science Department

News & Events


Model UN Class
Fall 2018

photo of Edgewood College students attending a Model UN Conference in Chicago

Compete as a team at a three-day American Model United Nations conference in Chicago in November 2018!

The United Nations brings together states in an increasingly interdependent world to make collective decisions for the betterment of all. Model United Nations is an interactive simulation that allows students to experience the difficulty and the potential of international diplomacy. At a Model UN conference students serve as state “delegates” and negotiate solutions to complex global problems within the UN institutional structure. Preparation for and participation in the conference is a unique opportunity to develop research, debate, and inter-personal skills while also learning about a critical institution in global politics.

This semester, we will compete as a team in Chicago at the three-day American Model United Nations (AMUN) conference in November 2018. As we progress through the semester, the principal question we will address is: what are the responsibilities and powers of supra-national institutions in finding solutions to global challenges? Contact for more information.


The latest Social Science Department Newsletter is now online!